A Rosa Thorne

As I lay there, cold and numb I wondered, “Why did this have to happen? everything was going so well!” Tear soaked stains fell like raindrops onto my pillow. Today had gone from one of the best days of my life to wishing the ground would swallow me whole. I guess I should start from the beginning…

Today is the biggest day of my life, Prom!  I was the captain of the Cheer leading Squad and had the hottest date in school. My life was perfect. I had everything a teenage girl could want. 

“That’s so perfect for you Jules! Lilac is your Colour!” As we hauled the heavy weight of the tones of dresses we’d tried on previously to the rack, where a girl I can only describe as a prisoner in her worse nightmare, took the dresses and sighed heavily as she put them all back.

” Jeez she gets paid to shop all day! you’d think she’d be happy about it.” I have to hand it to Lola, she can be very rude at times, but she was my best friend since before we could walk.

“Lo, she’s not paid to shop, just to put the rejects back to wait for their owners to come and get them.”

“Jules! don’t hurt their feelings!”

We laughed all the way home talking about clothes and their feeling, before we knew it we had little time left before prom. As I slipped into my silk lilac prom dress, the soft material hung on my shoulders like a lavender waterfall. I had never felt so graceful. Lola was looking like a Greek goddess in her golden dress.

By the time we had got to the prom the night was in full swing. Lanterns lit up the school garden making it look like a fairy palace. My boyfriend looked seriously hot in his Tux. As we got to the gate he pulled me to one side.

“Here” and in his hand was a single rose with perfect pink petals, looking at it made my heart skip. Trying not to squash my beautiful rose, I grabbed my amazing boyfriend and kissed him passionately. 

“I’ll be back soon princess.” 

As he left to go inside, I felt like the world was spinning around me, I decided to follow him to finish what we started, I never saw Lola’s Date arrive, and as I walked round the corner I realized why…

Their arms were entwined as they embraced each other.

“So am I your number one babe?”

Those were Lola’s last words I heard that night. They stung like thorns in my side. Without realizing it, I let out a scream, and I ran.

By the time I realized I was home, my feet were blistered and my hands were scratched from holding on to the rose stem too tightly. I let it fall to the floor as i fell on my pillow reminiscing on what i just saw on what was suposed to be the most magical night of my life and how it had been now turned into my worst nightmare.

Leave a Reply

